StartGroepenDiscussieMeerTijdgeest
Onze site gebruikt cookies om diensten te leveren, prestaties te verbeteren, voor analyse en (indien je niet ingelogd bent) voor advertenties. Door LibraryThing te gebruiken erken je dat je onze Servicevoorwaarden en Privacybeleid gelezen en begrepen hebt. Je gebruik van de site en diensten is onderhevig aan dit beleid en deze voorwaarden.
Hide this

Resultaten uit Google Boeken

Klik op een omslag om naar Google Boeken te gaan.

Lying in Wait door Liz Nugent
Bezig met laden...

Lying in Wait (origineel 2016; editie 2018)

door Liz Nugent (Auteur)

LedenBesprekingenPopulariteitGemiddelde beoordelingAanhalingen
4163744,778 (3.88)21
"From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an "unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page" (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed. My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life--wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia's son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax. For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a "seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre" (Sunday Mirror)"-- "Psychological thriller about a woman whose son discovers a secret that threatens her perfectly happy life"--… (meer)
Lid:Gail.C.Bull
Titel:Lying in Wait
Auteurs:Liz Nugent (Auteur)
Info:Simon & Schuster (2018), Edition: Reprint, 336 pages
Verzamelingen:British Isles Novels & Stories
Waardering:*****
Trefwoorden:Ireland

Werkdetails

Lying in Wait door Liz Nugent (2016)

Onlangs toegevoegd doorbesloten bibliotheek, Gail.C.Bull, RosangelaRopis, NCDonnas, LaureHalls, clyon0826, Ghila, Killick17, Cr8on6
  1. 00
    Praying Mantis door Domini Taylor (bluepiano)
    bluepiano: A mother just as horrid as the one in this book is up to similar shenanigans, although in Praying Mantis it's unloved daughter rather than beloved son whom Mom torments and betrays. This one's funner.
Bezig met laden...

Meld je aan bij LibraryThing om erachter te komen of je dit boek goed zult vinden.

Op dit moment geen Discussie gesprekken over dit boek.

» Zie ook 21 vermeldingen

Engels (33)  Piratentaal (1)  Alle talen (34)
1-5 van 34 worden getoond (volgende | toon alle)
This was funny, weird and good. ( )
  LoisSusan | Dec 10, 2020 |
Liz Nugent is a damned good storyteller. Not everyone can do thriller suspense well, but she weaves nearly effortlessly, with a noticeably gothic tone. I can't really say too much more, or else it will be one big fat spoiler review! I do recommend this book, however. Its well drawn characters will definitely stay with you. ( )
  Mona07452 | Oct 23, 2020 |
Lying in Wait must have the best opening line EVER! It is on the cover and in the blurb so I'm not releasing any spoilers by stating it again here:

'My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it.'

I had little doubt from this most excellent first sentence, that this book was going to be slightly on the dark side, but I could never have guessed how deliciously dark it was going to be. Talk about a dysfunctional family - Lydia reminded me of the fabulous Bette Davis in one of my favourite films, The Anniversary. A cruel and clever matriarch ruling her family without them even realising they are being ruled. Tremendous!

Andrew and Lydia Fitzsimons are doing very well for themselves. They live in a huge house with their son, Laurence, but beneath the perfect facade lies THE most dysfunctional family I have ever read about. Lydia is absolutely crazy as a coconut and Andrew and Laurence do everything they can to please her. Just how far they go on behalf of Lydia is enough to make your hair curl, and does she appreciate it? Not one little bit.

When Andrew kills Annie Doyle, Annie's family register her as a missing person and her sister, Karen, never gives up hope of finding out what happened to Annie. Annie was estranged from her family so when she sends mysterious letters reassuring her family that she's ok, they breathe a sigh of relief. Wait a moment, wasn't she killed in the first sentence? Aha! I told you this book was dark.

There is so much I could say about this book but I fear I may spoil some of the story if I continue, needless to say a brilliant opening line deserves an outstanding ending and Liz Nugent doesn't fail to deliver. I have read so many fabulous reviews of Liz Nugent's debut, Unravelling Oliver, but I have not yet had the chance to read it; if it's half as good as Lying in Wait, it will be money well spent.

Lying in Wait is a deliciously dark and constantly surprising story. Never has the well used line 'hooked from the start' fitted so well; you can't fail to be hooked from the start with this one and Liz Nugent definitely reeled me in. A fabulous book - I loved it.

I received this book from the publisher, Penguin Ireland, in exchange for an honest review. ( )
  Michelle.Ryles | Mar 9, 2020 |
Lying in Wait by Liz Nugent is a 2018 Gallery/Scout Press publication.

Sad, darkly humorous, and thoroughly chilling!

When Annie Doyle disappears, it has a profound effect on her sister, Karen. Law enforcement officials are not at all helpful, having made up their minds what kind of girl Annie was, deciding she wasn’t worth much effort on their part. But Karen never gives up trying to find out what happened to her sister.

Laurence Fitzsimons, a lonely, overweight boy discovers a dark secret about his parents, which haunts him all the way into adulthood. His mother, Lydia, a widow, keeps Laurence on a tight leash, keeping him as close to her as possible, manipulating him, monitoring his relationships, and his yo-yo dieting. Unlike other mothers, she doesn’t support his healthier choices, or emotional growth, wanting to keep him tethered to her.

In an ironical twist of fate, Karen’s life inexplicably intersects with Laurence, which sets in motions a shocking chain of events that even left ME stunned!

I have a few personal reading challenges in mind for 2020 and one of them is to read books by author’s I’ve never tried before. I’ve been meaning to sample Liz Nugent’s books, as they are often highly rated and seem to prompt a great deal of discussion.

I’m not sure why I chose this book as my introduction to this author, as ‘Unraveling Oliver’ has been on my TBR list longer. But I’m glad I plucked this one out of the pile first.

It took me a little while to find my groove with this one. I didn’t know what to make of it and kept waiting for the other shoe to drop. It took too long to get the good part, but once I got to the last quarter of the book, I was sitting on pins and needles.

I never would have imagined the insane path this story would take me down. It wasn’t until I had finished reading it and had a few days to mull it over that it really started to sink in. The author has a unique style and a quirky sense of humor, too.

The conclusion is a bit depressing, but I also ended up respecting the author’s boldness. I do love a good, unsettling, spine tingling climax, one that lingers for a long while, and this story certainly delivered on that count.

Although I was initially exasperated by the pacing, in hindsight the offbeat plot and execution was genius.

Overall, Nugent left a good first impression. I will definitely read more of her books and am now very excited about reading ‘Unraveling Oliver”. Hope I can fit that one in this year! ( )
  gpangel | Mar 6, 2020 |
Really good, well written with great characters and a excellent plot ( )
  karenshann | Dec 31, 2019 |
1-5 van 34 worden getoond (volgende | toon alle)
geen besprekingen | voeg een bespreking toe
Je moet ingelogd zijn om Algemene Kennis te mogen bewerken.
Voor meer hulp zie de helppagina Algemene Kennis .
Gangbare titel
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Oorspronkelijke titel
Alternatieve titels
Oorspronkelijk jaar van uitgave
Mensen/Personages
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Belangrijke plaatsen
Belangrijke gebeurtenissen
Verwante films
Prijzen en onderscheidingen
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Motto
Opdracht
Eerste woorden
Citaten
Laatste woorden
Ontwarringsbericht
Uitgevers redacteuren
Auteur van flaptekst/aanprijzing
Oorspronkelijke taal
Gangbare DDC/MDS

Verwijzingen naar dit werk in externe bronnen.

Wikipedia in het Engels

Geen

"From the international bestselling author of Unraveling Oliver, an "unputdownable psychological thriller with an ending that lingers long after turning the final page" (The Irish Times) about a Dublin family whose dark secrets and twisted relationships are suddenly revealed. My husband did not mean to kill Annie Doyle, but the lying tramp deserved it. On the surface, Lydia Fitzsimons has the perfect life--wife of a respected, successful judge, mother to a beloved son, mistress of a beautiful house in Dublin. That beautiful house, however, holds a secret. And when Lydia's son, Laurence, discovers its secret, wheels are set in motion that lead to an increasingly claustrophobic and devastatingly dark climax. For fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn, this novel is a "seductively sinister story. The twists come together in a superbly scary denouncement, which delivers a final sting in the tail. Brilliantly macabre" (Sunday Mirror)"-- "Psychological thriller about a woman whose son discovers a secret that threatens her perfectly happy life"--

Geen bibliotheekbeschrijvingen gevonden.

Boekbeschrijving
Haiku samenvatting

Snelkoppelingen

Populaire omslagen

Waardering

Gemiddelde: (3.88)
0.5
1 2
1.5
2 8
2.5
3 17
3.5 5
4 47
4.5 4
5 26

Ben jij dit?

Word een LibraryThing Auteur.

 

Over | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Privacy/Voorwaarden | Help/Veelgestelde vragen | Blog | Winkel | APIs | TinyCat | Nagelaten Bibliotheken | Vroege Recensenten | Algemene kennis | 154,481,517 boeken! | Bovenbalk: Altijd zichtbaar