StartGroepenDiscussieMeerTijdgeest
Doorzoek de site
Onze site gebruikt cookies om diensten te leveren, prestaties te verbeteren, voor analyse en (indien je niet ingelogd bent) voor advertenties. Door LibraryThing te gebruiken erken je dat je onze Servicevoorwaarden en Privacybeleid gelezen en begrepen hebt. Je gebruik van de site en diensten is onderhevig aan dit beleid en deze voorwaarden.
Hide this

Resultaten uit Google Boeken

Klik op een omslag om naar Google Boeken te gaan.

How Tom Beat Captain Najork and His Hired…
Bezig met laden...

How Tom Beat Captain Najork and His Hired Sportsmen (editie 2013)

door Russell Hoban (Auteur), Quentin Blake (Illustrator)

Reeksen: Captain Najork (1)

LedenBesprekingenPopulariteitGemiddelde beoordelingAanhalingen
1695127,112 (4.29)9
Because Tom's aunt disapproves of his constant fooling around she calls in Captain Najork to teach him a lesson. Tom, however, has a splendid idea.
Lid:Celialiu123
Titel:How Tom Beat Captain Najork and His Hired Sportsmen
Auteurs:Russell Hoban (Auteur)
Andere auteurs:Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
Info:Walker Books Ltd (2013), 32 pages
Verzamelingen:第一批1没有weight的isbn
Waardering:
Trefwoorden:Geen

Werkdetails

Hoe Tom won van kapitein Najork en zijn gehuurde sportlingen door Russell Hoban

Bezig met laden...

Meld je aan bij LibraryThing om erachter te komen of je dit boek goed zult vinden.

Op dit moment geen Discussie gesprekken over dit boek.

» Zie ook 9 vermeldingen

Toon 5 van 5
I laughed out loud, of course. Oh the rhymes, oh the names, oh the faces on the crew. Quentin Blake is a perfect choice, even if one does have to remind oneself that this book is not by Roald Dahl. ( )
  Cheryl_in_CC_NV | Jun 6, 2016 |
Prolific American children's author Russell Hoban, justly celebrated for his classic Frances stories, and English illustrator Quentin Blake, probably best known for his work on Roald Dahl's books, collaborated on a number of picture-books, amongst them this amusing tale of high-jinks and high drama, as a young boy with a penchant for fooling around confronts a professional sportsman and his four assistants, hired to teach him a lesson. Unfortunately for Captain Najork and his hired sportsmen, Tom is an expert at the kind of activities, from womble to sneedball, they think to use to chasten him. On the other hand, Tom's Aunt Fidget Wonkham-Strong makes an excellent consolation prize, for the chagrined captain...

With a cast of quirky characters, equipped with suitably amusing names, and a string of unlikely but humorous incidents, How Tom Beat Captain Najork and His Hired Sportsmen is the kind of zany, madcap adventure that young readers who enjoy authors like Joan Aiken and Lemony Snicket will gobble up! The artwork, done in Blake's signature style - full of energy, and replete with amusing details - is perfectly suited to the tale, accentuating the sly hilarity of the text. All in all, this vintage treat is a picture-book winner, and more than enough to convince me to track down the sequel, A Near Thing for Captain Najork! ( )
  AbigailAdams26 | Apr 20, 2013 |
All of us have had an Aunt Fidget Wonkham-Strong in our lives—the kind of aunt who, when we were little, made us eat “cabbage-potato-sog” and “learn off pages 65 to 75 of the Nautical Almanac” so we wouldn’t “fool around so much.” Fooling around looked suspiciously like playing to the Aunt Fidget Wonkham-Strongs in our lives; and if there was one thing such aunts couldn’t abide, it was playing. If we didn’t behave, our Aunt Fidget Wonkham-Strongs sent for Captain Najork and his hired sportsmen “who taught fooling around boys [and girls] the lesson they so badly need[ed]” . . . the dangers of fooling around. Some of us have never recovered from the trauma of an Aunt Fidget Wonkham-Strong. And some of us still have one hanging around, spoiling our parties, raining on our parades, and dispensing advice we don’t want. In our adult years, these aunts go by the name of Great Aunt Martha. They are our crosses to bear because we did not learn, indeed never have learned, to stop fooling around. As P.G. Wodehouse once said, “Aunts aren’t gentlemen.” You need to be Tom to triumph.

Read the rest of the review at the Dark Tea Times. ( )
8 stem urania1 | Jan 6, 2011 |
Because Tom's aunt disapproves of his constant fooling around she calls in Captain Najork to teach him a lesson. Tom, however, has a splendid idea.
  antimuzak | Feb 4, 2009 |
For older children, and adults. Hoban half-way between the Frances books and Riddley Walker (or maybe the Mouse and His Child). Aunt Fidget Wonkham-Strong, in her iron hat, makes Tom memorize pages of the nautical almanac, but he has other ideas of how to have fun. Great book. ( )
  kcollett | Feb 11, 2006 |
Toon 5 van 5
geen besprekingen | voeg een bespreking toe

» Andere auteurs toevoegen (2 mogelijk)

AuteursnaamRolType auteurWerk?Status
Russell Hobanprimaire auteuralle editiesberekend
Blake, QuentinIllustratorSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Je moet ingelogd zijn om Algemene Kennis te mogen bewerken.
Voor meer hulp zie de helppagina Algemene Kennis .
Gangbare titel
Oorspronkelijke titel
Alternatieve titels
Oorspronkelijk jaar van uitgave
Mensen/Personages
Belangrijke plaatsen
Belangrijke gebeurtenissen
Verwante films
Prijzen en eretitels
Motto
Opdracht
Eerste woorden
Citaten
Laatste woorden
Ontwarringsbericht
Uitgevers redacteuren
Auteur van flaptekst/aanprijzing
Oorspronkelijke taal
Gangbare DDC/MDS
Canonical LCC

Verwijzingen naar dit werk in externe bronnen.

Wikipedia in het Engels

Geen

Because Tom's aunt disapproves of his constant fooling around she calls in Captain Najork to teach him a lesson. Tom, however, has a splendid idea.

Geen bibliotheekbeschrijvingen gevonden.

Boekbeschrijving
Haiku samenvatting

Populaire omslagen

Snelkoppelingen

Waardering

Gemiddelde: (4.29)
0.5
1
1.5
2
2.5
3 2
3.5 1
4 13
4.5
5 10

Ben jij dit?

Word een LibraryThing Auteur.

 

Over | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Privacy/Voorwaarden | Help/Veelgestelde vragen | Blog | Winkel | APIs | TinyCat | Nagelaten Bibliotheken | Vroege Recensenten | Algemene kennis | 162,246,906 boeken! | Bovenbalk: Altijd zichtbaar