StartGroepenDiscussieMeerTijdgeest
Doorzoek de site
Onze site gebruikt cookies om diensten te leveren, prestaties te verbeteren, voor analyse en (indien je niet ingelogd bent) voor advertenties. Door LibraryThing te gebruiken erken je dat je onze Servicevoorwaarden en Privacybeleid gelezen en begrepen hebt. Je gebruik van de site en diensten is onderhevig aan dit beleid en deze voorwaarden.
Hide this

Resultaten uit Google Boeken

Klik op een omslag om naar Google Boeken te gaan.

Bezig met laden...

The American Boy (2003)

door Andrew Taylor

Andere auteurs: Zie de sectie andere auteurs.

LedenBesprekingenPopulariteitGemiddelde beoordelingAanhalingen
9142917,402 (3.46)38
Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. England 1819: Thomas Shield, a new master at a school just outside London, is tutor to a young American boy and the boy's sensitive best friend, Charles Frant. Drawn to Frant's beautiful, unhappy mother, Thomas becomes caught up in her family's twisted intrigues. Then a brutal crime is committed, with consequences that threaten to destroy Thomas and all that he has come to hold dear. Despite his efforts, Shield is caught up in a deadly tangle of sex, money, murder and lies - a tangle that grips him tighter even as he tries to escape from it. And what of the strange American child, at the heart of these macabre events, yet mysterious - what is the secret of the boy named Edgar Allen Poe?… (meer)
Bezig met laden...

Meld je aan bij LibraryThing om erachter te komen of je dit boek goed zult vinden.

Op dit moment geen Discussie gesprekken over dit boek.

» Zie ook 38 vermeldingen

Engels (28)  Zweeds (1)  Alle talen (29)
1-5 van 29 worden getoond (volgende | toon alle)
Set in Regency London and the Home Counties, The American Boy does an admirable job of recreating an authentic period novel. Tom Shields, the protagonist, suffers a breakdown and gets into trouble after being injured at Waterloo and suffering the heartache of being romantically jilted. Helped by his aunt to get a position after his fall from grace, he takes an opening as a master at a boys' boarding school and his life begins to return to an even keel. But when a new boy Frant joins the school, Shields becomes embroiled in the treacherous world of his rich banking family as the dark underworld of their wealth emerges.

This is a novel I've gone past on my TBR shelf for many years now, and I'm really glad I settled myself to read it at last. The American boy of the title refers to a young Edgar Allen Poe, friend of the schoolboy Frant. Although he appears very little in the novel, it is circumstances directly connected to him which contrive to bring about the dark events of the rest of the novel. Taylor was inspired by the real life mystery leading up to Edgar Allen Poe's death, when he was found delirious in the street wearing clothes that were not his own and shouting for an unknown 'Reynolds' on his deathbed. As Poe, unusual for that period, had spent much of his childhood in London before returning to America, Taylor sought to create a historical novel based around a fictional mystery from the early years of his life.

Poe is weaved into the fabric of 'The American Boy' by a fairly tenuous link, but needed or not Taylor has doubtlessly created a very enjoyable historical crime / fiction novel. Some references at the back of the book cite it as a modern day Wilkie Collins, and although that sets the bar very high I think it's fair praise on many levels. Taylor clearly researched the period setting meticulously, such that it feels entirely authentic to the early 1800s, and throughout he builds a great tale of tension and suspense. My one criticism is that it feels 100+ pages too long; despite really enjoying it my enthusiasm waned a little in the middle as the plot felt like it treaded water. By the end it became apparent why Taylor had wanted to build in a number of plot elements which seemed incidental in this section, but still - a shortening of these would have helped keep the tension tighter.

Overall, an enjoyable read, and certainly one to look out for if you enjoy historical fiction.

4 stars - high quality period drama. ( )
1 stem AlisonY | Sep 2, 2019 |
Den amerikanske pojken är en stort upplagd, underhållande och välskriven roman i en berättarstil som påminner om både Charles Dickens och Edgar Allan Poes. Persongalleriet är stort och det är en fördel om man inte behöver lägga boken ifrån sig alltför länge. Risken finns då att man tappar bort sig. För övrigt är det svårt att släppa boken, man är ivrig att få reda vad som ligger bakom de märkliga händelser som drabbar berättarpersonen Thomas Shield. En mycket läsvärd bok!
  svkkarlskrona | Feb 3, 2016 |
Well written and interesting though things seemed to just unfold through no real effort of the MC. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 22, 2016 |
Well written and interesting though things seemed to just unfold through no real effort of the MC. ( )
  Jen.ODriscoll.Lemon | Jan 22, 2016 |
Set in the early 1800's this is an intriguing murder mystery loosely based around the early life of Edgar Allan Poe his fathers mysterious disappearance and his time spent in England.

While the key facts are true Poes father did disappear and Poe was adopted by the Allans who took him to England the main part of the story is pure fiction.

The American Boy is actually a minor character within the novel however he is the catalyst that brings people together and causes certain events to occur.

The murder mystery is cleverly laid out and the reader is manipulated along with Thomas Shield the narrator.

The appendix written by another minor character much later sheds extra light on the events of that time.

London of the 1800's is well captured by the authors descriptions and this is a book that leaves you thinking and wondering what clues you missed along the way. ( )
  BookWormM | Jan 15, 2016 |
1-5 van 29 worden getoond (volgende | toon alle)
geen besprekingen | voeg een bespreking toe

» Andere auteurs toevoegen (16 mogelijk)

AuteursnaamRolType auteurWerk?Status
Andrew Taylorprimaire auteuralle editiesberekend
Bøllehuus, JesperAuteurSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Hayter, GeorgeArtiest omslagafbeeldingSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Hörmark, MatsVertalerSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Jacobi, Sir DerekSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Jansen in de Wal, MartinVertalerSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Jennings, AlexVertellerSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Koch, MonikaÜbersetzerSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Nicholl, KatiRedacteurSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Pether, HenryArtiest omslagafbeeldingSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Smith, FrançoiseVertalerSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Vance, SimonNarratorSecundaire auteursommige editiesbevestigd
Je moet ingelogd zijn om Algemene Kennis te mogen bewerken.
Voor meer hulp zie de helppagina Algemene Kennis .
Gangbare titel
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Oorspronkelijke titel
Alternatieve titels
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Oorspronkelijk jaar van uitgave
Mensen/Personages
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Belangrijke plaatsen
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Belangrijke gebeurtenissen
Verwante films
Prijzen en eretitels
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
Motto
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
I would not, if I could, here or to-day, embody a record of my later years of unspeakable misery, and unpardonable crime.

From "William Wilson" by Edgar Allan Poe
Opdracht
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
For Sarah and William.
And, as always, for Caroline.
Eerste woorden
Informatie afkomstig uit de Engelse Algemene Kennis. Bewerk om naar jouw taal over te brengen.
We owe respect to the living, Voltaire tells us in his Premiere Lettre sur Oedipe, but to the dead we owe only truth.
Citaten
Laatste woorden
Ontwarringsbericht
Uitgevers redacteuren
Auteur van flaptekst/aanprijzing
Oorspronkelijke taal
Gangbare DDC/MDS

Verwijzingen naar dit werk in externe bronnen.

Wikipedia in het Engels

Geen

Interweaving real and fictional elements, The American Boy is a major new literary historical crime novel in the tradition of An Instance of the Fingerpost and Possession. England 1819: Thomas Shield, a new master at a school just outside London, is tutor to a young American boy and the boy's sensitive best friend, Charles Frant. Drawn to Frant's beautiful, unhappy mother, Thomas becomes caught up in her family's twisted intrigues. Then a brutal crime is committed, with consequences that threaten to destroy Thomas and all that he has come to hold dear. Despite his efforts, Shield is caught up in a deadly tangle of sex, money, murder and lies - a tangle that grips him tighter even as he tries to escape from it. And what of the strange American child, at the heart of these macabre events, yet mysterious - what is the secret of the boy named Edgar Allen Poe?

Geen bibliotheekbeschrijvingen gevonden.

Boekbeschrijving
Haiku samenvatting

Snelkoppelingen

Populaire omslagen

Waardering

Gemiddelde: (3.46)
0.5
1 5
1.5
2 27
2.5 5
3 70
3.5 21
4 82
4.5 6
5 25

Ben jij dit?

Word een LibraryThing Auteur.

 

Over | Contact | LibraryThing.com | Privacy/Voorwaarden | Help/Veelgestelde vragen | Blog | Winkel | APIs | TinyCat | Nagelaten Bibliotheken | Vroege Recensenten | Algemene kennis | 159,240,747 boeken! | Bovenbalk: Altijd zichtbaar